Animation

A handy guide to the Library collections, services and facilities within your subject area.


Lindsey CrushMeet Your Librarian

Lindsey Crush is the Assistant Librarian responsible for the Faculty of Arts & Media. She studied Fine Art at NUA, Library Studies at Aberystwyth and has a PGCHE in Art, Design, Architecture and Media.

How can I help you?

You can book one to one tutorials with me to help you with your research or referencing, please contact me via email or you can drop into the library office (DS103) to have a chat. As a team, we also provide research and referencing drop in sessions to assist you in the run up to written work hand-ins, keep an eye on Instagram (@nualibrary) for times and dates.

 

If we don’t stock the book you are looking for we can get it for you via Inter library loan or purchase a copy for the library. Click here for ILL and click here to suggest an item or email us.

 

 

Browse the library shelves

Book cover, art of KuboBook cover - art of aardman

Animation books can be found on the first floor at Dewey Decimal number 759.5.

With the exception of short loan books, everything can be borrowed for three weeks. Click here for more information on how to borrow. The collection is broken down into more specific subject areas like this:

Theory, general histories of Animation: 759.5 – 759.51 All types of animation: 759.53
Technical works: 759.54 Applications including Maya: 759.543
Drawing/Design of characters: 759.544 Animators A-Z by last name: 759.551
Animation studios: 759.552 Animation – individual films: 759.6

Other useful areas to note:

Study skills: 001.42 Human anatomy: 712.7
Illustration: 755
Films/animations A-Z by title: 759.13 & 759.6
Character design for games: 794.844 Writing a research report: 808.02
Special Collections

Box - nine old menBook cover - animation studio
Found on the first floor, the Library’s Special Collections cabinets house artist’s books, rare books, typographic books, illustrated books, pop-up books and zines. These cannot be taken out on loan, but you are very welcome to look at them in the Library.

Please ask at the Help Desk if you would like to see any of the items in this collection.

 

Find your key texts Book cover - stop motion animation Book cover - producing animation Book cover - animated performance

Below are links to each of your unit Reading Lists provided by the Animation tutors.

Remember some copies of these books may be available as short loans, meaning you can borrow them for seven days. This is to ensure that everybody has a chance to see books that are in high demand.

Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Research reports:

Browse journals and magazines 

Images of magazines

Journals and magazines cannot be taken out on loan, but you are welcome to browse the latest issues and back copies held on the first floor of the Library.

Journals and magazines are a valuable source of visual and written material to help you in your research. It’s a good idea to get to know the titles related to your course because:

  • They are up to date.
  • Often the material in them covers contemporary activity and news.
  • Young animators and designers will be covered in journals long before they are covered by books.

Animation Journals and Magazines

These are titles that relate particularly to Animation, but remember lots of the other titles available in the library will be useful too:
Current Journals

3D Artist magazine cover3D Artist is an authoritative and well-respected source of inspiration for those working or aspiring to be working in the CGI industry. Every product in the 3D Artist portfolio features guides for awe-inspiring images, interviews and career advice from industry insiders and behind-the-scenes access on major 3D projects. 3D Artist covers all software and disciplines.

Print holdings: From 2018

Cover of 3D World3D World: 3D World is designed for all CG artists, covering animation, VFX, games and arch-viz. Every month enjoy new tutorials written by leading CG creatives.
Print Holdings: Most recent 3 years
Cover of Animation magazineAnimation Magazine: A magazine all about the art, business and technology of animation
Online only:  Via this link
Cover of Animation : an interdisciplinary journalAnimation : an interdisciplinary journal: an international peer-reviewed publishing platform for animation that unites contributions from a wide range of research agendas and creative practice.

Print holdings: Most recent 3 years
Online access via following link.

Stash magazine imageStash magazine: animation, VFX and motion graphics for design and advertising

Access on campus only using this link: http://www.stashmedia.tv/login.php


Research online

As well as printed materials, the Library also has a wide selection of online resources to help you with your research. These can be really useful for finding information for reports and essays. For a full list see online resources.

Accessing e-resources from off campus

Useful Online Resources for Animation

 

Finding articles in magazines and journals
To find magazine and journal articles online, use the Discovery search box at the top of every page on this website. Enter your search term (e.g. a designer’s name) and you will see a results list that includes both books and journal articles which feature in your search terms. Many of the results will offer full text so you can read the articles online. Some results may give an abstract which will give you a brief summary of the article, but not the full text. If you would like to read the full text but can’t find it, please ask a Librarian for help, or request the article via an Inter Library Loan form.Search button For more details on searching and browsing journals, please have a look at the e-journals guide.
Screen studies logoScreen Studies is a dynamic digital platform taking users from script to screen and beyond – offering a broad range of content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber to support moving-image studies.

It comprises an exceptional collection of award-winning screenplays, critical and contextual books on film from the late nineteenth century to the present, and an interactive timeline of cinema history. Starting with an initial 300 screenplays and books, and updated annually, Screen Studies includes content to suit entire course needs. It is an essential resource for academics and students engaged in research and learning around film history, theory and practice.

Moving image databases

British library logoBritish Library Sounds
Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
bob logoWatch tv and film
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) is a television streaming service available to all students and staff. Login using your NUA username and password. It is covered under the NUA’s television license so there is no need for a TV license to use it. BoB allows you to view recently aired programmes from over 65 channels and there is a searchable archive of 2 million broadcasts. You can also create playlists of your favourite programmes and there is a function for making clips. Here is a playlist we have created for Animation students.
BFI InView
Collection of over 2,000 non-fiction film and television titles on 20th century history, free for UK educational users.

Kanopy logo

Kanopy A curated collection of over 30,000 videos available for streaming on and off campus.

How to access – click on the link above to login to Kanopy with your NUA username and password.

 

 

MUBIMUBI logo
Sign up here in the film schools programme area to access an ever changing and carefully selected group of films. Available as an app and free to all students.
BFI ScreenonlineBFI Screenonline logo
BFI archive including downloadable video clips and tutorials on aspects of British film and TV history, free for UK educational users.
Available on campus only.
The database also includes the Encyclopedia of British Film
EAFA logoEast Anglian Film Archive
The East Anglian Film Archive website includes over 200 hours of film from EAFA’s extensive collection.
EU ScreenEU Screen logo
Online access to thousands of videos, stills, texts & audio from European broadcasters’ audiovisual archives.
Open CultureOpen Culture website

Watch 1,150 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films.

Stash LogoStash
Access to an online archive of animation and VFX, including 120 hours of commercials, music videos, and short films.
Click on the LOGIN button for access. Available on-campus only.

Useful websites for animators

Motionographer

Motionographer shares inspiring work and important news for the motion design, animation and visual effects communities.

Vimeo

‘The best animation craft, style, and character design on the web, including hand-drawn, CG, puppets, and stop motion’.

Pictoplasma

Celebrating Contemporary Character Design and Art – with Conferences, Festivals, Books, Exhibitions … and now an Academy!

It’s Nice That

Lively and user friendly website which showcases new and emerging culture. Link goes to the animation category.

Show Me The Animation

Show Me The Animation is an online animation magazine showcasing independent animation from around the world.

Cartoon Brew

Covers a wide range of topics, from cutting-edge computer animation and visual effects for both television and film, to classical techniques like hand-drawn and stop motion.

Sqwigly

Online animation magazine.

Animation World Network

Online publishing group that specialises in resources for animators.

Get help with your research

Contact the Library
Find Study Skills Advice 

E-books

NUA Library subscribes to EBook Central and Dawsonera. Go to the E-books page to find out more about how to access these resources. We have over 140,000 e-books to choose from, and you can even rent or suggest extra purchases too.

If you are ever unsure just come and ask a member of the library team and we will be glad to help you.