A handy guide to the Library collections, services and facilities within your subject area.
Meet Your Librarian
Lindsey Crush is the Assistant Librarian responsible for the Faculty of Arts & Media. She studied Fine Art at NUA, Library Studies at Aberystwyth and has a PGCHE in Art, Design, Architecture and Media.
How can I help you?
You can book one to one tutorials with me to help you with your research or referencing, please contact me via email or you can drop into the library office (DS103) to have a chat. As a team, we also provide research and referencing drop in sessions to assist you in the run up to written work hand-ins, keep an eye on Instagram (@nualibrary) for times and dates.
Browse the library shelves
BSc books in the Library’s main collection can be found on the first floor at Dewey Decimal number 794.8.
With the exception of short loan books, everything can be borrowed for three weeks. Click here for more information on how to borrow. The collection is broken down into more specific subject areas like this:
|Interface Design: 005.437
||Digital Design and marketing: 658.827
|Technical works (design): 750.6||Typography: 752.6|
|Website design: 753.780
|Applications including Maya: 759.543
||Games Design: (interfaces): 794.81526
Find your key texts
Below are links to each of your unit Reading Lists provided by the course tutors.
Remember some copies of these books may be available as short loans, meaning you can borrow them for seven days. This is to ensure that everybody has a chance to see books that are in high demand.
Browse journals and magazines
Journals and magazines cannot be taken out on loan, but you are welcome to browse the latest issues and back copies held on the first floor of the Library.
Journals and magazines are a valuable source of visual and written material to help you in your research. It’s a good idea to get to know the titles related to your course because:
- They are up to date.
- Often the material in them covers contemporary activity and news.
- Young artists and designers will be covered in journals long before they are covered by books.
These are titles that relate particularly to the BSc courses, but remember lots of the other titles available in the library will be useful too such as the Graphic Design magazines:
The Library also has a selection of E-Journals that can be read online.
|ACM Digital Library
Search here for access to all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
Access: on and off-campus
“Develop is the only European-based website and magazine totally focused on the games development sector. It benefits from being able to drill down into technical subjects and agenda-setting issues, whilst offering valuable tips and information to its readers.”
Press Start is an open access, peer-reviewed student journal that publishes the best undergraduate and postgraduate research, essays and dissertations from across the multidisciplinary subject of Game Studies. The Editorial Board and Reviewers are comprised of students and recent graduates at Glasgow University.
As well as printed materials, the Library also has a wide selection of online resources to help you with your research. These can be really useful for finding information for reports and essays. For a full list see here.
|Finding articles in magazines and journals
To find magazine and journal articles online, use the Discovery search box at the top of every page on this website. Enter your search term (e.g. a designer’s name) and you will see a results list that includes both books and journal articles which feature in your search terms. Many of the results will offer full text so you can read the articles online. Some results may give an abstract which will give you a brief summary of the article, but not the full text. If you would like to read the full text but can’t find it, please ask a Librarian for help, or request the article via an Inter Library Loan form. For more details on searching and browsing journals, please have a look at the e-journals guide.
|Watch tv and film
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) is a television streaming service available to all students and staff. Login using your NUA username and password. It is covered under the NUA’s television license so there is no need for a TV license to use it. BoB allows you to view recently aired programmes from over 65 channels and there is a searchable archive of 2 million broadcasts. You can also create playlists of your favourite programmes and there is a function for making clips.Here is a BSc playlist we have created.
A curated collection of over 30,000 videos available for streaming on and off campus.
How to access – click on the link above to login to Kanopy with your NUA username and password. If you are off-campus you may need to click on the ‘Connect Now; button.
Useful websites for the BSc courses
Showcase and discover the latest work from top online portfolios by creative professionals across industries.
“Codenutz.com is a free resource showing you how to make an app, get it into the market and make money from it.”
Evidence-Based User Experience Research, Training, and Consulting.
Useful website with guides to presentation and writing skills.
“The Digital Project Manager provides project management guidance for the digital wild west where crazy clients, tiny budgets & silly deadlines reign supreme.”
W3C Web accessibility guidelines
The mission of the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) is to lead the Web to its full potential to be accessible, enabling people with disabilities to participate equally on the Web.
Web designer depot
Web Design Resources for Web Designers. Include Photoshop Tutorials, WordPress Plugins, and Web Development tools.
Get help with your research
NUA Library subscribes to EBook Central and Dawsonera. Go to the E-books page to find out more about how to access these resources. We have over 140,000 e-books to choose from, and you can even rent or suggest extra purchases too.
If you are ever unsure just come and ask a member of the library team and we will be glad to help you.