Film and Moving Image Production

A handy guide to the Library collections, services and facilities within your subject area.

Lindsey CrushMeet Your Librarian

Lindsey Crush is the Assistant Librarian responsible for the Faculty of Arts & Media. She studied Fine Art at NUA, Library Studies at Aberystwyth and has a PGCHE in Art, Design, Architecture and Media.

How can I help you?

You can book one to one tutorials with me to help you with your research or referencing, please contact me via email or you can drop into the library office (DS103) to have a chat. As a team, we also provide research and referencing drop in sessions to assist you in the run up to written work hand-ins, keep an eye on Instagram (@nualibrary) for times and dates.

 

If we don’t stock the book you are looking for we can get it for you via Inter library loan or purchase a copy for the library. Click here for ILL and click here to suggest an item or email us.

Browse the library shelves

La La Land coverBook - Industrial light and magicBook - Wes AndersonFilm and Moving Image Production books in the Library’s main collection can be found on the first floor at Dewey Decimal number 759.

With the exception of short loan books, everything can be borrowed for three weeks. Click here for more information on how to borrow. The collection is broken down into more specific subject areas like this:

Film (general): 759-59.1 Film History: 759.11
Specific films: 759.13 Short films: 759.131
Genre: 759.132 Documentaries: 759.133
Film directors: 759.14 Technical works: 759.4
Design (storyboards etc): 759.48 Special effects: 759.49

Remember that there will be useful books in other parts of the Library as well, like this:

Study skills: 001.42 Fine Artists: 730
Animation: 759.5
Television: 759.8
Writing a research report: 808.02 Screenwriting: 808.23
Films can be borrowed for one week. For feature films look in 759.13 (A-Z by title)

Nine old men flipbooks

Special Collections

Found on the first floor, the Library’s Special Collections cabinets house artist’s books, rare books, typographic books, illustrated books, pop-up books and zines. These cannot be taken out on loan, but you are very welcome to look at them in the Library.

Please ask at the Help Desk if you would like to see any of the items in this collection.

Pamphlets

Thinner, more ephemeral material is held in the Library’s Pamphlets collection, on the first floor. This includes lots of exhibition catalogues, monographs, maps and some one-off examples of magazines with interesting designs and layouts. Using the pamphlets is a good way of finding material on artists and designers who are perhaps less well known or less well established. Like Special Collections, Pamphlets cannot be taken out on loan, but please feel free to help yourself to pamphlets to read in the Library.

Find your key textsBook - film artBook on documentary

Below are links to each of your unit Reading Lists provided by the Film tutors. Remember some copies of these books may be available as short loans, meaning you can borrow them for seven days. This is to ensure that everybody has a chance to see books that are in high demand.

Year 0 Film and Moving Image Production

BA0A : Introductory Studies

BA0B : Specialist Study

Year 1

BA1A : Fundamentals
BA1B : Concepts and Contexts

Year 2

BA2A : Experimentation and Application

BA2B : Collaboration

Research reports:

Browse journals and magazines

MagazinesJournals and magazines cannot be taken out on loan, but you are welcome to browse the latest issues and back copies held on the first floor of the Library.

Journals and magazines are a valuable source of visual and written material to help you in your research. It’s a good idea to get to know the titles related to your course because:

  • They are up to date.
  • Often the material in them covers contemporary activity and news of exhibitions.
  • Young artists and designers will be covered in journals long before they are covered by books.

 

Film Journals and Magazines

These are titles that relate particularly to Film and Moving Image Production, but remember lots of the other titles available in the library will be useful too:
Current Journals

American CinematographerAmerican cinematographer magazinepublished monthly by the American Society of Cinematographers
Print Holdings: From 2012, click image for info on e-versions

American Cinematographer website

Little white lies magazine

Little White Lies: UK based bi-monthly unusual format film magazine with original illustrations

Print Holdings: from 2011

Little White Lies website

Podcast

Screen: leading international journal of academic film and television studiesScreen magazine cover

Electronic only via this link, click image for the library record

Screen international magazineScreen Internationalfilm news, latest film reviews and reports from film festivals and film awards around the world

Print Holdings: from 2014

Screen Daily Website

The SoundtrackThe Soundtrack Magazine cover: The Soundtrack is a multi-disciplinary, double-blind peer-reviewed journal which brings together research in the area of music and sound in relation to film and other moving image media, including film, television, games, and installations.

Electronic only: From 2016

Website for the Soundtrack Magazine

Wire magazineWire: independent, monthly music magazine covering a wide range of alternative, underground and non-mainstream musics

Print Holdings: from 2015

Wire website

Archived Journals

Moviescope magazineMoviescope Magazine
Print Holdings: 2006-2014
Content also archived and available online, click on the image for the link

Research online

As well as printed materials, the Library also has a wide selection of online resources to help you with your research. These can be really useful for finding information for reports and essays.

Accessing e-resources from off campus

Useful Online Resources for Film and Moving Image Production

Finding articles in magazines and journals
To find magazine and journal articles online, use the Discovery search box at the top of every page on this website.Enter your search term (e.g. a designer’s name) and you will see a results list that includes both books and journal articles which feature in your search terms. Many of the results will offer full text so you can read the articles online. Some results may give an abstract which will give you a brief summary of the article, but not the full text. If you would like to read the full text but can’t find it, please ask a Librarian for help, or request the article via an Inter Library Loan form.Search buttonFor more details on searching and browsing journals, please have a look at the e-journals guide.
Screen studies logoScreen Studies is a dynamic digital platform taking users from script to screen and beyond – offering a broad range of content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber to support moving-image studies.

It comprises an exceptional collection of award-winning screenplays, critical and contextual books on film from the late nineteenth century to the present, and an interactive timeline of cinema history. Starting with an initial 300 screenplays and books, and updated annually, Screen Studies includes content to suit entire course needs. It is an essential resource for academics and students engaged in research and learning around film history, theory and practice.

Moving image databases
British Library Sounds
Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
bob logoWatch tv and film
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) is a television streaming service available to all students and staff. Login using your NUA username and password. It is covered under the NUA’s television license so there is no need for a TV license to use it. BoB allows you to view recently aired programmes from over 65 channels and there is a searchable archive of 2 million broadcasts. You can also create playlists of your favourite programmes and there is a function for making clips.
Here is a film playlist
of programmes that you might find useful.

Kanopy logo

Kanopy : A curated collection of over 30,000 videos available for streaming on and off campus.

How to access – click on the link above to login to Kanopy with your NUA username and password.

BFI ScreenonlineBFI logo
BFI archive including downloadable video clips and tutorials on aspects of British film and TV history, free for UK educational users.
Available on-campus only.
The database also includes the Encyclopedia of British Film
BFI InView
Collection of over 2,000 non-fiction film and television titles on 20th century history, free for UK educational users.
East Anglian Film Archive
The East Anglian Film Archive website includes over 200 hours of film from EAFA’s extensive collection. Based at the University of East Anglia.
EU Screen
Online access to thousands of videos, stills, texts & audio from European broadcasters’ audiovisual archives, from early 1900s until today.
MUBIMUBI logo
Sign up here in the film schools programme area to access an ever changing and carefully selected group of films. Available as an app and free to all students.
Open Culture
Watch 1,150 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films.
Stash
Access to an online archive of animation and VFX, including 120 hours of commercials, music videos, and short films.
Access on campus only using this link: http://www.stashmedia.tv/login.php
Film friendly websites

Anatomy of a scene

Hosted on the New York Times website and showcases directors walking audiences through a particular scene from their films.

Art of the guillotine

Online film community for film editors. Connect editors and future editors with ideas and techniques that make films great as well as connect them with each other.

The Beat

Hosted by Premium Beat, contains insight into pre and post production issues

British Film Council

Includes a wealth of resources for UK film-makers; and an archive of 120 documentary films from the 1940s designed to showcase Britain.

Creative Skillset

Creative Skillset works with the UK’s screen-based creative industries to develop skills and talent, from classroom to boardroom

Future Shorts

Future Shorts programmes feature award-winning international short films alongside live music, DJs, food and art. Screening across a vast network of theatres, music halls, beach bars, galleries, clubs and warehouses.

Internet Archive (Moving image collection)

Download or listen to free movies, films, and videos. This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news.

Internet Movie Script Database (IMSDb)

Hundreds of movie scripts to read or download for free.

Luxonline

British film and video artists, including video clips.

No Film School

Online community portal for independent creatives in video and film.

Shooting People

Shooting People connects you with thousands of filmmakers, actors, crew, technologists and industry to get films made and seen.

Power to the Pixel

“Power to the Pixel helps film and media businesses adapt to stay relevant in an ever-evolving connected world.”

Get help with your research

Contact the Library
Find Study Skills Advice 

E-books

NUA Library subscribes to EBook Central and Dawsonera. Go to the E-books page to find out more about how to access these resources. We have over 140,000 e-books to choose from, and you can even rent or suggest extra purchases too.

If you are ever unsure just come and ask a member of the library team and we will be glad to help you.