A handy guide to the Library collections, services and facilities within your subject area.
Meet Your Librarian
Lindsey Crush is the Assistant Librarian responsible for the Faculty of Arts & Media. She studied Fine Art at NUA, Library Studies at Aberystwyth and has a PGCHE in Art, Design, Architecture and Media.
How can I help you?
You can book one to one tutorials with me to help you with your research or referencing, please contact me via email or you can drop into the library office (DS103) to have a chat. As a team, we also provide research and referencing drop in sessions to assist you in the run up to written work hand-ins, keep an eye on Instagram (@nualibrary) for times and dates.
Browse the library shelves
Fine Art books in the Library’s main collection can be found on the first floor at Dewey Decimal number 700-730.
With the exception of short loan books, everything can be borrowed for three weeks. Click here for more information on how to find resources. The collection is broken down into more specific subject areas like this:
|The Arts, general works: 700||Galleries, dealers and collectors: 702.5|
|History of drawing: 712||History of printmaking: 716|
|Perception: colour: 718.1||Artistic practices in the 20th Century: 727/728|
|Artist publications (20c): 728.81||Artistic practices in the 21st Century: 729|
|Artist publications (21c): 729.89||Artists A-Z by last name: 730|
Remember that there will be useful books in other parts of the Library as well, like this:
|Study skills: 001.42||Photography: 758|
||Pattern design: 744|
|Paper craft: 767.81
||Writing a research report: 808.02
For feature films look in 759.13 (A-Z by title) and for DVD’s on artists look in the 730’s A-Z by artist surname.
Found on the first floor, the Library’s Special Collections cabinets house artist’s books, rare books, typographic books, illustrated books, pop-up books and zines. These cannot be taken out on loan, but you are very welcome to look at them in the Library.
Please ask at the Help Desk if you would like to see any of the items in this collection.
Thinner, more ephemeral material is held in the Library’s Pamphlets collection, on the first floor. This includes lots of exhibition catalogues, monographs, maps and some one-off examples of magazines with interesting designs and layouts. Using the pamphlets is a good way of finding material on artists and designers who are perhaps less well known or less well established.
Below are links to each of your unit Reading Lists provided by the Fine Art tutors.
Remember some copies of these books may be available as short loans, meaning you can borrow them for one week. This is to ensure that everybody has a chance to see books that are in high demand.
Year 0 Fine Art
Browse journals and magazines
Journals and magazines cannot be taken out on loan, but you are welcome to browse the latest issues and back copies held on the first floor of the Library.
Journals and magazines are a valuable source of visual and written material to help you in your research. It’s a good idea to get to know the titles related to your course because:
- They are up to date.
- Often the material in them covers contemporary activity and news of exhibitions.
- Young artists and designers will be covered in journals long before they are covered by books.
Fine Art Journals and Magazines
These are titles that relate particularly to Fine Art, but remember lots of the other titles available in the library will be useful too:
|Afterall: in-depth considerations of the work of contemporary artists, as well as essays on art history and critical theory.
Print Holdings: From 2002, click image for info on e-versions
Electronic: Available online via the University of Chicago (on campus only) 1998-current
|Art Monthly: one of the UK’s leading contemporary art magazines
Print holdings: Most recent 3 years, click image for info on e-versions
|ArtForum: an international monthly magazine specializing in contemporary art
Print Holdings: From 2000, click image for info on e-versions
|Drawing: research, theory, practice: promotes and disseminates drawing research with a focus on contemporary practice and its theoretical context.
Print Holdings: from 2016
|Flash Art: bimonthly magazine focused on contemporary art
Print Holdings: from 2008, click here for info on e-versions
|Frieze: leading magazine for contemporary art and culture
Print Holdings: from 1998
|Modern Painters: ‘the definitive international source for analysis of contemporary art and culture‘
Print Holdings: from 2000, click here for info on e-versions
|Mousse: ‘ the contemporary art magazine‘
Print Holdings: from 2014
|Raw Vision: outsider art
Print Holdings: from 2007
|Tate etc.: Tate’s art magazine, published three times a year.
Print Holdings: from 2010, click image for info on e-versionsTate etc.’s website
Turps Banana: Magazine which concentrates exclusively on painting and is written predominantly by practicing painters. Part of the art school of the same name in London.
Print Holdings: from 2017
Find these plus many others on the journals archive shelves in the main library area.
|Colors: ‘A magazine about the rest of the world’
Print Holdings: From 1999 – 2014.
|The Face: The Face was a British music, fashion and culture monthly magazine started in May 1980.
Print holdings: from 1981 – 2004
|Fuse: A magazine about issues of Arts and Culture
Print Holdings: 2000-2007
|n.paradoxa: international feminist art journal
Print Holdings: from 2009 – 2017 when it ceased publication.
|Parkett: Parkett was an international magazine specializing in contemporary art. The magazine ceased publication in Summer 2017 with its 100th issue.
Print Holdings: from 2000 – 2017.Parketts’s website
|Untitled : a review of contemporary art
Print Holdings: 2000-2007.
Fine Art E-Journals
The Library also has a selection of E-Journals that can be read online.
A resource for artists seeking inspiration and instruction on improving their craft devoted to the realism in art. It features artists who are examples of excellence in their medium, whether oil, watercolor, pastel, acrylic and other media. Ceased publication in 2012 but back issues can be viewed using the link.
|Art business news
Provides in-depth coverage of the art marketplace for artists, buyers, gallery owners, publishers and collectors.
Critical discussion of contemporary visual arts in an international context.
e-flux is a publishing platform and archive, artist project, curatorial platform, and enterprise which was founded in 1998. Its news digest, events, exhibitions, schools, journal, books, and the art projects produced and/or disseminated by e-flux describe strains of critical discourse surrounding contemporary art, culture, and theory internationally. Its monthly publication e-flux journal has produced essays commissioned since 2008 about cultural, political, and structural paradigms that inform contemporary artistic production.
Journal available online on e-flux website, along with other project documentation: www.e-flux.com/journals/
Contemporary women’s art practice & the historical debates that relate to women’s art. Emerging & established artists are featured from around the world.
At the forefront of art criticism and theory, October focuses critical attention on the contemporary arts—film, painting, music, media, photography, performance, sculpture, and literature—and their various contexts of interpretation.
Available on campus via MIT Press, and off campus by logging in via institutional access.
|Senses and society
This pioneering journal provides a crucial forum for the exploration of this vital new area of inquiry.
As well as printed materials, the Library also has a wide selection of online resources to help you with your research. These can be really useful for finding information for reports and essays.
Useful Online Resources for Fine Art
|Finding articles in magazines and journals
To find magazine and journal articles online, use the Discovery search box at the top of every page on this website.Enter your search term (e.g. a designer’s name) and you will see a results list that includes both books and journal articles which feature in your search terms. Many of the results will offer full text so you can read the articles online. Some results may give an abstract which will give you a brief summary of the article, but not the full text. If you would like to read the full text but can’t find it, please ask a Librarian for help, or request the article via an Inter Library Loan form.For more details on searching and browsing journals, please have a look at the e-journals guide.
|Watch TV and film
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) is a television streaming service available to all students and staff. Login using your NUA username and password. It is covered under the NUA’s television license so there is no need for a TV license to use it. BoB allows you to view recently aired programmes from over 65 channels and there is a searchable archive of 2 million broadcasts. You can also create playlists of your favourite programmes and there is a function for making clips.
Here is a Fine Art playlist of programmes that you might find useful.
Kanopy: A curated collection of over 30,000 videos available for streaming on and off campus.
How to access – click on the link above to login to Kanopy with your NUA username and password.
Sign up here in the film schools programme area to access an ever changing and carefully selected group of films. Available as an app and free to all students.
There are many general image search sites on the web, not listed here (please be aware that images you find on those sites are often not copyright-free…)
The list below is mainly of subject-specific image banks, & other collections often available solely to UK Higher Education. Click here for more on image and audio-visual resources.
Portal to 50 million artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from several major European art and music collections.
|The John Johnson Collection
The John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera gives access to over 65,000 digitised documents in five main categories exploring everyday life from the 18th to the early 20th century : 19th-Century Entertainment; The Booktrade; Popular Prints; Crime; Advertising (See also VADS for major images from the collection).
|NYPL Digital Gallery
Free access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library’s collections (including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more).
|Visual Arts Data Service
VADS includes 140,000 images (fashion, textiles, posters, prints and design artefacts) from over 50 diverse UK collections. Images are copyright-cleared for non-commercial educational use and personal research.
Free low and high-res historical images from the Wellcome Library collections, including Tibetan Buddhist paintings, ancient Sanskrit manuscripts written on palm leaves, beautifully illuminated Persian books, and many detailed medical photographs inspiring in shape, colour and texture. Images free to reuse with attribution.
Useful websites for Fine Artists
a-n is the largest artists’ membership organisation in the UK with over 21,000 members.
American Suburb X
A US photography blog with a huge photography history archive. (Sections on painting and Film too).
Quarterly magazine edited by artists and writers.
It’s Nice That
Innovative website covering a range of subjects including Art, Photography, Media and Fashion.
Get help with your research
NUA Library subscribes to EBook Central and Dawsonera. Go to the E-books page to find out more about how to access these resources. We have over 140,000 e-books to choose from, and you can even rent or suggest extra purchases too.
If you are ever unsure just come and ask a member of the library team and we will be glad to help you.