A handy guide to the Library collections, services and facilities within your subject area.
Meet Your Librarian
Lindsey Crush is the Assistant Librarian responsible for the Faculty of Arts & Media. She studied Fine Art at NUA, Library Studies at Aberystwyth and has a PGCHE in Art, Design, Architecture and Media.
How can I help you?
You can book one to one tutorials with me to help you with your research or referencing, please contact me via email or you can drop into the library office (DS103) to have a chat. As a team, we also provide research and referencing drop in sessions to assist you in the run up to written work hand-ins, keep an eye on Instagram (@nualibrary) for times and dates.
Browse the library shelves
Games Art & Design books in the Library’s main collection can be found on the first floor at Dewey Decimal number 794.8.
With the exception of short loan books, everything can be borrowed for three weeks.Click here for more information on how to borrow resources.
The collection is broken down into more specific subject areas like this:
|Theory and ludology: 794.8
|Technical works: 794.81||Interface design: 794.81526|
|Specific genres: 794.82||Platforms for games: 794.83
|Design – drawing, painting scenes, characters: 794.844
||Writing for games: 794.845
|Games designers: 794.85
||Individual games: 794.86 (A-Z by title)
Remember that there will be useful books in other parts of the Library as well, like this:
|Study skills: 001.42||Human anatomy: 712.7|
|Character design for games: 794.844||Writing a research report: 808.02
Below are links to each of your unit Reading Lists provided by the Games tutors.
Remember some copies of these books may be available as short loans, meaning you can borrow them for one week. This is to ensure that everybody has a chance to see books that are in high demand.
Year 0 Games
Browse journals and magazines
Journals and magazines cannot be taken out on loan, but you are welcome to browse the latest issues and back copies held on the first floor of the Library.
Journals and magazines are a valuable source of visual and written material to help you in your research. It’s a good idea to get to know the titles related to your course because:
- They are up to date.
- Often the material in them covers contemporary activity and news.
- Young artists and designers will be covered in journals long before they are covered by books.
Games Art and Design Journals and Magazines
These are titles that relate particularly to Games Art and Design, but remember lots of the other titles available in the library will be useful too:
The Library also has a selection of E-Journals that can be read online.
“Develop is the only European-based website and magazine totally focused on the games development sector. It benefits from being able to drill down into technical subjects and agenda-setting issues, whilst offering valuable tips and information to its readers.”
Press Start is an open access, peer-reviewed student journal that publishes the best undergraduate and postgraduate research, essays and dissertations from across the multidisciplinary subject of Game Studies. The Editorial Board and Reviewers are comprised of students and recent graduates at Glasgow University.
As well as printed materials, the Library also has a wide selection of online resources to help you with your research. These can be really useful for finding information for reports and essays. For a full list of online resources click here.
|Finding articles in magazines and journals
To find magazine and journal articles online, use the Discovery search box at the top of every page on this website.Enter your search term (e.g. a designer’s name) and you will see a results list that includes both books and journal articles which feature in your search terms. Many of the results will offer full text so you can read the articles online. Some results may give an abstract which will give you a brief summary of the article, but not the full text. If you would like to read the full text but can’t find it, please ask a Librarian for help, or request the article via an Inter Library Loan form.For more details on searching and browsing journals, please have a look at the e-journals guide.
The Gnomon Workshop offers the most comprehensive set of Digital Production tutorials anywhere. The broad scope of the tutorials range from foundational understanding of the software tools all the way to the professional application of these tools and concepts used by artists working in the film and game industries. Access to this resource is prioritised for Games Art and Design and VFX students, please get in touch with your Course Leader for information on how to access the Gnomon Workshop.
Digimap is a database giving access to Ordnance Survey maps and map data, Arial photographs and Lidar data*, either to download for use with application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap itself. You will need to register using your NUA email to use this service.* Lidar data is a very accurate model of the earth’s surface; this data is captured by firing very rapid laser pulses at the ground surface.Access: on and off-campus. You need to register with Digimap when you use the resource for the first time.
|Watch TV and film
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) is a television streaming service available to all students and staff. Login using your NUA username and password. It is covered under the NUA’s television license so there is no need for a TV license to use it. BoB allows you to view recently aired programmes from over 65 channels and there is a searchable archive of 2 million broadcasts. You can also create playlists of your favourite programmes and there is a function for making clips.Click here for a Games playlist of programmes that you might find useful.
Kanopy A curated collection of over 30,000 videos available for streaming on and off campus.
How to access – click on the link above to login to Kanopy with your NUA username and password. If you are off-campus you may need to click on the ‘Connect Now; button.
Sign up here in the film schools programme area to access an ever changing and carefully selected group of films. Available as an app and free to all students.
Useful websites for Games Design
Acta Ludica is an open-access, open-reviewed international online journal on game studies.
Anatomical basis of facial expression learning tool.
Concept Art World is a concept art blog and directory that features news, concept artists, illustrators and designers working in film, game and animation.
Creative Skillset works with the UK’s screen-based creative industries to develop skills and talent, from classroom to boardroom.
Digital Games Research Association (DiGRA) is a nonprofit international learned society whose work focuses on game studies and associated activities.
Video game industry news, developer blogs, and features delivered daily.
‘The resource for people who make and sell games.’
The international journal of computer game research (open access).
Academic, peer-reviewed journal (open access).
‘GDC Vault is a trove of in-depth design, technical and inspirational talks and slides from the influencers of the game. development industry’.
The International Game Developers Association (IGDA) is the largest non-profit membership organization in the world serving all individuals who create games.
Online magazine in PDF format dedicated to digital arts.
The Journal of Games Criticism (JGC) is a non-profit, peer-reviewed, open-access journal which aims to respond to these cultural artifacts by extending the range of authors to include both traditional academics and popular bloggers.
Celebrating Contemporary Character Design and Art – with Conferences, Festivals, Books, Exhibitions … and now an Academy!
Since 1998 Polycount has been a community & resource for professional, hobbyist, and aspiring video game artists.
Press Start is an open access, peer-reviewed student journal that publishes the best undergraduate and postgraduate research, essays and dissertations from across the multidisciplinary subject of Game Studies.
TIGA is the network for games developers and digital publishers and the trade association representing the video games industry.
Supporting the UK’s games and interactive entertainment industry.
A journal on video games, value and meaning.
Forum for users to discuss Zbrush issues.
Get help with your research
NUA Library subscribes to EBook Central and Dawsonera. Go to the E-books page to find out more about how to access these resources. We have over 140,000 e-books to choose from, and you can even rent or suggest extra purchases too.
If you are ever unsure just come and ask a member of the library team and we will be glad to help you.