MA Courses: Research and Professional Practice

A handy guide to the Library collections, services and facilities within your subject area.

Meet Your Librarians

Lindsey Crush Kirsten Pairpoint Jenny Williams

 

 

 

 

 

How Can I Help You?

Browse the library shelves

Book cover - art practice as researchBook cover - visual methodologiesThe books in the Library’s main collection can be found on the first floor. Some of these shelf marks may help you browse the books that will be of most use to your research. In addition to these there will be more course specific titles within the other subject pages.

With the exception of short loan books, everything can be borrowed for three weeks.Click here for more information on how to borrow resources.

  • 001.4: Research methodologies, study skills
  • 100: Philosophy
  • 150: Psychology
  • 154: The subconscious
  • 190: Western Philosophy
  • 302.23: Media studies
  • 303.483: Digital culture
  • 305: Gender and the body
  • 306: Culture
  • 320: Politics
  • 330: Economics
  • 360: Social issues
  • 370: Educational theory
  • 707: Art education
  • 808: Academic writing

Special collection

Special Collections

Found on the first floor, the Library’s Special Collections cabinets house artist’s books, rare books, typographic books, illustrated books, pop-up books and zines. These cannot be taken out on loan, but you are very welcome to look at them in the Library.

Please ask at the Help Desk if you would like to see any of the items in this collection.

 

PamphletsPamphlets

Thinner, more ephemeral material is held in the Library’s Pamphlets collection, on the first floor. This includes lots of exhibition catalogues, monographs, maps and some one-off examples of magazines with interesting designs and layouts. Using the pamphlets is a good way of finding material on artists and designers who are perhaps less well known or less well established. Like Special Collections, Pamphlets cannot be taken out on loan, but please feel free to help yourself to pamphlets to read in the Library.

 

 

Find your key textsBook cover - textile designersPhotography today book cover

Here is the link to the first MA project Research into practice. Remember some copies of these books may be available as short loans, meaning you can borrow them for one week. This is to ensure that everybody has a chance to see books that are in high demand. Where possible we have ensured that there is an e-book version which means multiple people can access and use them.

Self negotiated unit: Reading list

Communication Design: Unit 1Unit 2

Curation: Unit 1Unit 2

Fashion: Unit 1Unit 2

Fine Art:  Unit 1Unit 2

Games: Unit 1Unit 2

Moving Image and Sound: Unit 1Unit 2

Photography: Unit 1Unit 2

Textile Design: Unit 1Unit 2

Research online

As well as printed materials, the Library also has a wide selection of online resources to help you with your research. These can be really useful for finding information for reports and essays. For a full list see here.

Accessing e-resources from off campus

Finding articles in magazines and journals
To find magazine and journal articles online, use the Discovery search box at the top of every page on this website.Enter your search term (e.g. a designer’s name) and you will see a results list that includes both books and journal articles which feature in your search terms. Many of the results will offer full text so you can read the articles online. Some results may give an abstract which will give you a brief summary of the article, but not the full text. If you would like to read the full text but can’t find it, please ask a Librarian for help, or request the article via an Inter Library Loan form.Search buttonFor more details on searching and browsing journals, please have a look at the e-journals guide.
 General resources that will be useful

Arts Council jobs page

The Arts Jobs list details current vacancies and opportunities in the arts community, and Arts News.

Arts Professional

The UK’s arts management journal for industry professionals, covering theatre, visual art, dance & classical music.

Arts Thread

“The World’s Leading Network For New Creatives – Bridging The Gap Between Education & Industry”

BBC Culture pages

Round up of latest culture news and reviews.

British Fashion Council

The British Fashion Council is committed to developing excellence and growth in a sector that is a significant contributor to the British economy. We nurture, support and promote British fashion talent to a global market.

BFI Film Fund

“The BFI uses National Lottery funds to develop and support original UK filmmakers and films, and to increase the audiences who can enjoy them.”

Comedia

Comedia was founded in 1978 by Charles Landry and has comprised a group of people who developed projects concerned with city life, culture and creativity.

Creative England

“As a not-for-profit organisation we mobilise public and private resources to garner as much support and investment for the creative industries as possible. We work with a wide range of partners and investors from commercial brands and companies such as Google, Facebook and KPMG to local authorities, cultural bodies and universities, national government, and the European Commission.”

Curator Space

Helps curators manage their exhibitions by accepting and managing applications online for multiple exhibitions.

Development Impact and You

The DIY Toolkit has been especially designed for development practitioners to invent, adopt or adapt ideas that can deliver better results.

The DO Lectures

Inspirational talks from passionate, creative people. The idea is a simple one. That people who Do things, can inspire the rest of us to go and Do things too.

Everyday Listening

Everyday Listening collects inspiring and remarkable sound art and creative sound design projects, installations, reviews of urban soundscapes, places, contemporary or experimental, mostly electronic music. You might also read about new ways of using and distributing music and sound.

Film Sound

FilmSound.org serves as an essential learning space dedicated to aspects of film sound.

Game Sound

Gamesound.org ties the many disparate threads of game sound on the net together in one convenient spot.

Live Art development agency

“The Live Art Development agency works to support the live art sector, its practices discourses, infrastructure and audiences. The agency has three main areas of activity, professional development, resources and projects”.

Metropolitan Museum of Art

The Metropolitan Museum of Art is one of the world’s largest and finest art museums.

Open Culture

Your guide to FREE educational media. Find thousands of free online courses, audio books, textbooks, eBooks, language lessons, movies and more.

Royal Society of Art

The mission of the RSA (Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce) is to enrich society through ideas and action.

Get help with your research

Contact the Library
Find Study Skills Advice

E-books

Click here for more information on e-books.

NUA Library subscribes to EBook Central and Dawsonera. Go to the E-books page to find out more about how to access these resources. We have over 140,000 e-books to choose from, and you can even rent or suggest extra purchases too.

If you are ever unsure just come and ask a member of the library team and we will be glad to help you.