A handy guide to the Library collections, services and facilities within your subject area.
Meet Your Librarian
Lindsey Crush is the Assistant Librarian responsible for the Faculty of Arts & Media. She studied Fine Art at NUA, Library Studies at Aberystwyth and has a PGCHE in Art, Design, Architecture and Media.
How can I help you?
You can book one to one tutorials with me to help you with your research or referencing, please contact me via email or you can drop into the library office (DS103) to have a chat. As a team, we also provide research and referencing drop in sessions to assist you in the run up to written work hand-ins, keep an eye on Instagram (@nualibrary) for times and dates.
Browse the library shelves
With the exception of short loan books, everything can be borrowed for three weeks. Click here for more information on how to borrow resources.
The collection is broken down into more specific subject areas like this:
|Photography (General theory/Aesthetics): 758||History of Photography: 758.1|
|Photojournalism: 758.12||Techniques: 758.3|
|People/portraits: 758.4||Fashion Photography: 758.43|
|Sexuality/Gender/Ethnicity: 758.46||Space/Aerial photography: 758.5|
|Collections of photographers work: 758.56||Photographers A-Z by last name: 758.7|
Remember that there will be useful books in other parts of the Library as well, like this:
|Study skills: 001.42||Fine Artists A-Z by last name: 730|
||Exhibitions and curating: 702.58
||Writing a research report: 808.02
For feature films look in 759.13 (A-Z by title) and for DVD’s on photographers look in the 758‘s
Found on the first floor, the Library’s Special Collections cabinets house artist’s books, rare books, typographic books, illustrated books, photobooks, pop-up books and zines. These cannot be taken out on loan, but you are very welcome to look at them in the Library.
Please ask at the Help Desk if you would like to see any of the items in this collection.
Thinner, more ephemeral material is held in the Library’s Pamphlets collection, on the first floor. This includes lots of exhibition catalogues, monographs, maps and some one-off examples of magazines with interesting designs and layouts. Using the pamphlets is a good way of finding material on artists and designers who are perhaps less well known or less well established. Like Special Collections, Pamphlets cannot be taken out on loan, but please feel free to help yourself to pamphlets to read in the Library.
Below are links to each of your unit Reading Lists provided by the Photography tutors.
Remember some copies of these books may be available as short loans, meaning you can borrow them for one week. This is to ensure that everybody has a chance to see books that are in high demand.
Browse journals and magazines
Journals and magazines cannot be taken out on loan, but you are welcome to browse the latest issues and back copies held on the first floor of the Library.
Journals and magazines are a valuable source of visual and written material to help you in your research. It’s a good idea to get to know the titles related to your course because:
- They are up to date.
- Often the material in them covers contemporary activity and news of exhibitions.
- Young Photographers, artists and designers will be covered in journals long before they are covered by books.
Photography Journals and Magazines
These are titles that relate particularly to Photography, but remember lots of the other titles available in the library will be useful too:
Aesthetica: one of the leading magazines on art, design, photography, architecture, music, film and performance’.
Print Holdings: Most recent 5 years click image for info on e-versions
|Aperture: quarterly magazine with a focus on photography
Print holdings: From 2000, click image for info on e-versions
|British Journal of Photography: in print since 1854.
Print Holdings: from 2006, click image for info on e-versionsBJP website
Camera Austria: bilingual magazine which is written in both German and English which concentrates solely on the photography of contemporary visual artists.
Print Holdings: from 2013
|European Photography: twice yearly international art magazine for contemporary photography and new media.
Print Holdings: from 1997, click image for info on e-versions.
|Foam: international photography magazine.
Print Holdings: from 2013
|Hot Shoe International: long standing quarterly international photography magazine
Print Holdings: from 2000
|Hunger: biannual magazine from photographer and publisher, Rankin.
Print holdings: From 2011
|Photoworks: Photoworks commissions new photography, produces exhibitions and events including the Brighton Photo Biennial, publishes books and an annual magazine.
Print holdings: Most recent 5 years, click image for info on e-versions
|Source: quarterly publication from Ireland. It reviews all the latest new photography by the very best new artists from all over the world
Print Holdings: from 2003
These are journals that we no longer receive, usually because they are no longer being published. You can find these on the shelves on the First Floor of the Library.
Colors: ‘A magazine about the rest of the world’
Print Holdings: From 1999 – 2014. Archive online here
The Face: The Face was a British music, fashion and culture monthly magazine started in May 1980.
Print holdings: from 1981 – 2004
|Portfolio:The catalogue of contemporary photography in Britain.
Print Holdings: Journal ceased publication, 1995-2010
|View Camera: Bi-monthly publication that began in 1988, and is specifically aimed toward the large format photographer.
Print Holdings: 2000-2012
The Library also has a selection of E-Journals that can be read online.
|Image [&] narrative:
Peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology and word and image studies in the broadest sense of the term. It does not focus on a narrowly defined corpus or theoretical framework, but questions the mutual shaping of literary and visual cultures. Beside tackling theoretical issues, it is a platform for reviews of real life examples.
Each issue features three parts: 1) a thematic cluster, guest-edited by specialized scholars in the field; 2) a selection of various articles; 3) reviews of recent publications.
Image [&] Narrative is a bilingual journal, which publishes contributions in either English or French, and which fosters cross-cultural and interdisciplinary dialogue between linguistic and scientific traditions.
|Photography and Culture:
Triannual peer-reviewed academic journal published by Routledge.
As well as printed materials, the Library also has a wide selection of online resources to help you with your research. These can be really useful for finding information for reports and essays. For a full list see here
|Finding articles in magazines and journals
To find magazine and journal articles online, use the Discovery search box at the top of every page on this website.Enter your search term (e.g. a designer’s name) and you will see a results list that includes both books and journal articles which feature in your search terms. Many of the results will offer full text so you can read the articles online. Some results may give an abstract which will give you a brief summary of the article, but not the full text. If you would like to read the full text but can’t find it, please ask a Librarian for help, or request the article via an Inter Library Loan form.For more details on searching and browsing journals, please have a look at the e-journals guide.
|Watch tv and film
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) is a television streaming service available to all students and staff. Login using your NUA username and password. It is covered under the NUA’s television license so there is no need for a TV license to use it. BoB allows you to view recently aired programmes from over 65 channels and there is a searchable archive of 2 million broadcasts. You can also create playlists of your favourite programmes and there is a function for making clips. Here is a Photography playlist of programmes that you might find useful.
|Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public libraries and universities that offers viewers a large collection of award-winning films and documentaries.
How to access – click on the link above to login to Kanopy with your NUA username and password.
Sign up here in the film schools programme area to access an ever changing and carefully selected group of films. Available as an app and free to all students.
Get help with your research
NUA Library subscribes to EBook Central and Dawsonera. Go to the E-books page to find out more about how to access these resources. We have over 140,000 e-books to choose from, and you can even rent or suggest extra purchases too.
If you are ever unsure just come and ask a member of the library team and we will be glad to help you.