Textile Design

A handy guide to the Library collections, services and facilities within your subject area.

Jenny WilliamsMeet Your Librarian

Jenny Williams is the Assistant Librarian responsible for Textiles. She studied Contemporary Crafts and Ceramics up to MA Level and has worked at NUA for over 7 years.

 

How Can I Help You?

You can book one to one tutorials with me to help you with your research or referencing, please contact me via email or you can drop into the library office (DS103) to have a chat!  I work Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday morning, at any other time my colleagues will be happy to help you!  As a team, we also provide research and referencing drop in sessions to assist you in the run up to written work hand-ins, keep an eye on Instagram (@nualibrary) for times and dates.

 

If we don’t stock the book you are looking for we can get it for you via Inter library loan or purchase a copy for the library. Click here for ILL and click here to suggest an item or email us.

Browse the Library ShelvesBook cover of Print, Make, WearBook cover of Digital Textile Design

Books on Textiles

Textiles books in the Library’s main collection can be found on the first floor at Dewey Decimal number 762. They are broken down into more specific subject areas like this:

General works: 762 Materials and technology: 762.4
Textiles by country: 762.2 Technical works: 762.4
Textiles designers A-Z: 762.3 Techniques: 762.6

Remember that there will be useful books in other parts of the Library as well, like this:

Fashion: 761 Pattern: 744

Main collection books can be borrowed for three weeks.

Special Collections  Book coverof Christian Louboutin
Found on the first floor, the Library’s Special Collections cabinets house artist’s books, rare books, typographic books, illustrated books, pop-up books and zines. These cannot be taken out on loan, but you are very welcome to look at them in the Library.

Please ask at the Help Desk if you would like to see any of the items in this collection.

 

Book cover of Pretty DeadlyPamphlets
Thinner, more ephemeral material is held in the Library’s Pamphlets collection, on the first floor. This includes lots of exhibition catalogues, monographs, maps and some one-off examples of magazines with interesting designs and layouts. Using the pamphlets is a good way of finding material on artists and designers who are perhaps less well known or less well established. Like Special Collections, Pamphlets cannot be taken out on loan, but please feel free to help yourself to pamphlets to read in the Library.

 

 

Find Your Key Texts

Book cover of Digital Textile Design

Book cover of Tapestry a Woven Narrative

Below are links to each of your unit Reading Lists provided by the Textiles tutors.
Remember some copies of these books may be available as short loans, meaning you can borrow them for one week. This is to ensure that everybody has a chance to see books that are in high demand.

Year 2

 

Research reports:

Browse Journals and MagazinesCover of Selvedge Magazine

Journals and magazines cannot be taken out on loan, but you are welcome to browse the latest issues and back copies held on the first floor of the Library.

Journals and magazines are a valuable source of visual and written material to help you in your research. It’s a good idea to get to know the titles related to your course because:

  • They are up to date.
  • Often the material in them covers contemporary activity and news.
  • Young artists and designers will be covered in journals long before they are covered by books.

Textiles Journals and Magazines
These are titles that relate particularly to Textiles, but remember lots of the other titles available in the library will be useful too:

Current Journals

Bloom magazine coverBloom
The first trend magazine for flowers and plants and how they relate to fashion, interiors and other industries.
Print Holdings: 2008 - present
Click here for the full catalogue record
Costume Society logoCostume: the journal of costume society
Costume is published in January and June each year by the Costume Society who aim to promote the study and preservation of historic and contemporary dress.
Print Holdings: 2015  – present
The Costume Society Website
Click here for the full catalogue record
Costume and Textile Association logoCostume and Textiles
The Costume & Textile Association seeks to promote the unique costume and textile collection of the Norfolk Museums Service.
Print Holdings: Past 3 years 

Costume and textile association website

Click here for the full catalogue record
Cover of Crafts MagazineCrafts
Crafts magazine is produced by the Crafts Council highlight the work of current contemporary craft, including news, reviews and maker profiles.
Print Holdings: 2008 - present

Electronic Holdings: 1999 - present Crafts magazine websiteClick here for the full catalogue record
Cover of Elle Decoration MagazineElle Decoration
ELLE Decoration is the world's biggest-selling homes magazine.
Print Holdings: Past 5 years
ELLE Decoration website

Click here for the full catalogue record
Cover Embroidery MagazineEmbroidery
Produced by the Embroiderer's Guild to raise the profile of textiles and stitched art, this journal includes current news of the latest shows and events from around the UK.
Print holdings: Past 10 years
Embroiderer's Guild website

Click here for the full catalogue record
Cover of Quilter MagazineThe Quilter
The national magazine of The Quilters' Guild, featuring news, reviews, interviews with well-known quilters, 'how-to' articles and much more of interest to quilters.
Print Holdings: Past 3 years
The Quilter's Guild website
Click here for the full catalogue record
Cover of Selvedge MagazineSelvedge
Selvedge is a journal devoted to a love of all forms of textiles and has very high quality photographs of the textiles themselves. For a fashion and Fine Art audience.
Print Holdings: From 2004 (Issue 1)
Click here for the full catalogue record
The Textile Society LogoText: for the study of textile art design & history
Produced by the Textiles Society to promote the study of textile disciplines and celebrates the history and culture of textiles, both traditional and contemporary.
Print Holdings: From 2005
The Textile Society website
Click here for the full catalogue record
Cover of International Textile Report MagazineInternational Textile Report

International trend information for the whole of the textile and fashion market.
Print Holdings: From 2013 (previously Textile Report)
International Textile Report website
Click here for the full catalogue record
Cover of Textile View MagazineTextile View
Trend forecast for the upcoming seasons concerning colours, materials, design and styling, including street and retail reports.
Print Holdings: From 1997

Textile View website
Click here for the full catalogue record
Cover of World of Interiors MagazineWorld of Interiors
Print Holdings: Past 5 years.
World of Interiors website
Click here for the full catalogue record

Archived Journals

International Textiles
Fashion and Textiles forecasting magazine which ceased publishing in 2007.
Print Holdings: 2000 - 2002
Cover of Marie Claire Masion MagazineMarie Claire Maison
French interior design magazine.Print Holdings: 2018 - 2019
Marie Claire Maison website

Click here for the full catalogue record
Textiles ForumCover of Textile Forum Magazine
Reports on themes of textile creation, education and textile cultural heritage. Textile Forum magazine ceased publication at the end of 2013.
Print holdings: 1996 - 2013

Click here to search via the Textiles Forum database.
Click here for the full catalogue record

Textiles e-journals
The Library also has a selection of e-journals that can be read online.

Design Exchange
Interactive interior design weekly.
Electronic holdings: Available as digital issues via Design Exchangewebsite
Fashion Theory
Fashion Theory takes as its starting point a definition of ‘fashion’ as the cultural construction of the embodied identity. The importance of studying the body as a site for the deployment of discourses has been well established in a number of disciplines'
Electronic holdings: Full text: Vol.1 1997 - present
Fiberarts
Fiberarts has covered the best and most interesting work in basketry, fibre, knitting, needlework, papermaking, quilting, sculpture, surface design, wearable art and weaving.
Electronic holdings: From 1997 - 2011
Journal of Modern Craft
The first peer-reviewed academic journal to provide an interdisciplinary and international forum in its subject area.
Electronic holdings: From 2008 - present
Ornament
Magazine devoted to personal adornment including jewellery and wearable fibre.
Electronic holdings: From 1997 - present
Piecework
The leading historical needlework magazine.
Electronic holdings: From 2001 - present
Surface Design Journal
A quarterly magazine. Every issue explores a theme - e.g. Stitching, Creative Process, Pushing the Edge – that allows for in-depth coverage of different aspects of surface design.
Website only: From 1994 - present
Textiles: Journal of Cloth and Culture
Brings together research in textile studies in an innovative and distinctive academic forum. Peer-reviewed and in full-colour throughout.
Electronic holdings: From Vol. 1 2003 - present
Journal of Textile Design and Research Practice
This journal publishes articles about research through textile designing and making; research informed by textiles; and research for textile design education.
Electronic holdings: From Vol. 1 2013 - present

 Research Online

As well as printed materials, the Library also has a wide selection of online resources to help you with your research. These can be really useful for finding information for reports and essays.

Accessing e-resources from off campus

Useful Online Resources for Textiles

Finding articles in magazines and journals
To find magazine and journal articles online, use the Discovery search box at the top of every page on this website. Enter your search term (e.g. a designer's name) and you will see a results list that includes both books and journal articles which feature in your search terms. Many of the results will offer full text so you can read the articles online. Some results may give an abstract which will give you a brief summary of the article, but not the full text. If you would like to read the full text but can't find it, please ask a Librarian for help, or request the article via an Inter Library Loan form.Search button For more details on searching and browsing journals, please have a look at the e-journals guide.
Business of Fashion LogoBusiness of Fashion
Business of Fashion is a daily resource for fashion creatives delivering fashion business intelligence on emerging designers, disruptive technologies and global brands that are making their mark on the industry at a time of unprecedented change.Click here to create a profile for free student access to all articles
Berg Fashion Library
The Berg Fashion Library includes 13,000 images, the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, eBooks, reference works, an interactive timeline, a new exhibition archive, and more.

Statista

Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics from over 18,000 sources, available immediately in easy to use graphs you can use in your own reports and presentations. Statista includes market data, industry reports, forecasts, opinion polls and infographics.
Access: on and off-campus. For off-campus, if you are not automatically authenticated, access select 'Login' then scroll down to the 'Additional Services' list and choose the 'Campus Access" option. You will need to select 'Norwich University of the Arts' from the dropdown list and login with your NUA username and password.

WGSN LogoWGSN
Online trend-analysis and research service for the fashion design and retail industries. Includes surveys of catwalks, colour and materials, and seasonal trends. Please register on campus to use from home.
bob logoWatch tv and film
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) is a television streaming service available to all students and staff. Login via OpenAthens using your NUA username and password. It is covered under the NUA’s television license so there is no need for a TV license to use it. BoB allows you to view recently aired programmes from over 65 channels and there is a searchable archive of 2 million broadcasts. You can also create playlists of your favourite programmes and there is a function for making clips.
Here is an Textiles playlist
of programmes that you might find useful.
Image databases

Image of pattern by Bianchini-Ferier

© Victoria and Albert Museum, London.

VADS : the online resource for visual arts  Comprises over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning and research in the UK. Includes:

Central Saint Martins Museum and Study Collection: Textiles

Crafts Study Centre : Textiles

Goldsmith Textile Collection & Constance Howard Gallery: Object Collection

Goldsmith Textile Collection & Constance Howard Gallery: Slide Collection

Pockets of History Collection (Embroidery)

The Textiles Collection: University for the Creative Arts at Farnham

Useful Textile-Friendly Websites
Here are a few ideas for blogs and websites that you might like to browse for information, inspiration and ideas.
AXIS Artists Database
Axis is the best online resource for information about contemporary art. The website features profiles of professional artists and curators, interviews, discussions, art news, debates and showcases the artists to watch.Fashion and Textile Museum
Founded by iconic British designer Zandra Rhodes, the centre showcases a programme of changing exhibitions exploring elements of fashion, textile and jewellery.The Textile Society
The Society promotes the study of textile disciplines and celebrates the history and culture of textiles, both traditional and contemporary.Victoria and Albert Museum Textiles Collection
The V&A holds the national collection of textiles and fashion, which includes more than 75,000 individual objects or sets of objects that span a period of more than 5,000 years, from Predynastic Egypt to the present day.Costume Society

Get Help with Your Research

Contact the Library
Find Study Skills Advice 

E-Books

NUA Library subscribes to EBook Central and Dawsonera. Go to the E-books page to find out more about how to access these resources. We have over 140,000 e-books to choose from, and you can even rent or suggest extra purchases too.

If you are ever unsure just come and ask a member of the library team and we will be glad to help you.