VFX

 A handy guide to the Library collections, services and facilities within your subject area.

Lindsey CrushMeet Your Librarian

Lindsey Crush is the Assistant Librarian responsible for the Faculty of Arts & Media. She studied Fine Art at NUA, Library Studies at Aberystwyth and has a PGCHE in Art, Design, Architecture and Media.

How can I help you?

You can book one to one tutorials with me to help you with your research or referencing, please contact me via email or you can drop into the library office (DS103) to have a chat. As a team, we also provide research and referencing drop in sessions to assist you in the run up to written work hand-ins, keep an eye on Instagram (@nualibrary) for times and dates.

 

If we don’t stock the book you are looking for we can get it for you via Inter library loan or purchase a copy for the library. Click here for ILL and click here to suggest an item or email us.

 

Browse the library shelves

DVD cover - The movies beginBook cover - industrial light and magicBook cover - HugoVFX books in the Library’s main collection can be found on the first floor at Dewey Decimal number 759.49.

With the exception of short loan books, everything can be borrowed for three weeks. Click here for more information on how to borrow resources.

The collection is broken down into more specific subject areas like this:

Film (general): 759/759.1 Film History: 759.11
Specific films: 759.13 Short films: 759.131
Genre: 759.132 Documentaries: 759.133
Film directors: 759.14 Technical works: 759.4
Design (storyboards etc): 759.48 Special effects: 759.49

Remember that there will be useful books in other parts of the Library as well, like this:

Study skills: 001.42 Fine Artists: 730
Animation: 759.5
Television: 759.8
Writing a research report: 808.02 Screenwriting: 808.23
Special Collections

Image of special collectionImage of special collectionFound on the first floor, the Library’s Special Collections cabinets house artist’s books, rare books, typographic books, illustrated books, pop-up books and zines. These cannot be taken out on loan, but you are very welcome to look at them in the Library.

Please ask at the Help Desk if you would like to see any of the items in this collection.

Pamphlets

Thinner, more ephemeral material is held in the Library’s Pamphlets collection, on the first floor. This includes lots of exhibition catalogues, monographs, maps and some one-off examples of magazines with interesting designs and layouts. Using the pamphlets is a good way of finding material on artists and designers who are perhaps less well known or less well established. Like Special Collections, Pamphlets cannot be taken out on loan, but please feel free to help yourself to pamphlets to read in the Library.

 

Find your key texts  Rickitt Special Effects cover Filmmakers Guide to VFX cover

Below are links to each of your unit Reading Lists provided by the VFX tutors. Remember some copies of these books may be available as short loans, meaning you can borrow them for one week. This is to ensure that everybody has a chance to see books that are in high demand.

 

Year 1

Year 1 key text:  Special Effects: The History and Technique. London: Aurum Press

BA1A : Fundamentals

BA1B : Concepts and Contexts

Year 2

Year 2 key text: The Filmmaker’s Guide to Visual Effects

BA2A : Experimentation and Application

BA2B : Collaboration

Year 3

Year 3 key text: Digital Visual Effects in Cinema: The Seduction of Reality.

E-book version of this text also available to access – read online straight away!

BA3A : Research and Development

BA3B : Resolution and Innovation

Research reports:

Browse journals and magazines

MagazinesJournals and magazines cannot be taken out on loan, but you are welcome to browse the latest issues and back copies held on the first floor of the Library.

Journals and magazines are a valuable source of visual and written material to help you in your research. It’s a good idea to get to know the titles related to your course because:

  • They are up to date.
  • Often the material in them covers contemporary activity and news of exhibitions.
  • Young artists and designers will be covered in journals long before they are covered by books.

 

Journals and Magazines

These are titles that relate particularly to Visual Effects, but remember lots of the other titles available in the library will be useful too:

Current Journals
3D Artist magazine cover3D Artist is an authoritative and well-respected source of inspiration for those working or aspiring to be working in the CGI industry. Every product in the 3D Artist portfolio features guides for awe-inspiring images, interviews and career advice from industry insiders and behind-the-scenes access on major 3D projects. 3D Artist covers all software and disciplines.

Print holdings: From 2018

Cover of 3D World3D World: 3D World is designed for all CG artists, covering animation, VFX, games and arch-viz. Every month enjoy new tutorials written by leading CG creatives.

Print Holdings: Most recent 3 years

Cover of American cinematograperAmerican Cinematographer: published monthly by the American Society of Cinematographers

Print Holdings: From 2012, click image for info on e-versions

American Cinematographer website

Cover of Animation : an interdisciplinary journalAnimation : an interdisciplinary journal: an international peer-reviewed publishing platform for animation that unites contributions from a wide range of research agendas and creative practice.

Print holdings: Most recent 3 years
Online:
access via the following link (sign in via your institution if off-campus).

Cinefex coverCinefex: bimonthly magazine devoted to motion picture visual effects.

Print Holdings: from 2014

Computer ArtsComputer Arts:The world’s leading magazine for graphic designers.

Print holdings: From 2014

Creative Review magazineCreative Review: From advertising, photography and film, to design, music and fashion.

Print Holdings: Most recent 5 years, Library First Floor.

For electronic version click here

Edge magazineEdge: multi-format video game magazine

Print holdings: From 2015

Imagine FXImagine FX: Digital art magazine

Print holdings: From 2012

Little white liesLittle White Lies: UK based bi-monthly unusual format film magazine with original illustrations

Print Holdings: from 2011

Little White Lies website

Podcast

Screen magazineScreen International: film news, latest film reviews and reports from film festivals and film awards around the world

Print Holdings: from 2014

Screen Daily Website

Research online

Useful Online Resources for VFX

As well as printed materials, the Library also has a wide selection of online resources to help you with your research. These can be really useful for finding information for reports and essays. For a full list see here

Accessing e-resources from off campus

Finding articles in magazines and journals

To find magazine and journal articles online, use the Discovery search box at the top of every page on this website.Enter your search term (e.g. a designer’s name) and you will see a results list that includes both books and journal articles which feature in your search terms. Many of the results will offer full text so you can read the articles online. Some results may give an abstract which will give you a brief summary of the article, but not the full text. If you would like to read the full text but can’t find it, please ask a Librarian for help, or request the article via an Inter Library Loan form.Search buttonFor more details on searching and browsing journals, please have a look at the e-journals guide.

Online training
Pluralsight

Image of Pluralsight logoPluralsight is an online training library with technical content targeted to a higher level of IT needs. Courses offered focus on software development, servers, cloud, networking, databases, security, and more. The full course catalog can be viewed at http://pluralsight.com.

This resource is for 2nd and 3rd year VFX students only and to access it you log in with your university details.

Gnomon WorkshopGnomon logo

The Gnomon Workshop offers the most comprehensive set of Digital Production tutorials anywhere. The broad scope of the tutorials range from foundational understanding of the software tools all the way to the professional application of these tools and concepts used by artists working in the film and game industries. Access to this resource is prioritised for Games Art and Design and VFX students, please get in touch with your Course Leader for information on how to access the Gnomon Workshop.

Digimap logo

Digimap is a database giving access to Ordnance Survey maps and map data, Arial photographs and Lidar data, either to download for use with application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap itself. You will need to register using your NUA email to use this service.

Access: on and off-campus. You need to register with Digimap when you use the resource for the first time.
Digimap help

Screen studies logoScreen Studies is a dynamic digital platform taking users from script to screen and beyond – offering a broad range of content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber to support moving-image studies. It comprises an exceptional collection of award-winning screenplays, critical and contextual books on film from the late nineteenth century to the present, and an interactive timeline of cinema history. Starting with an initial 300 screenplays and books, and updated annually, Screen Studies includes content to suit entire course needs. It is an essential resource for academics and students engaged in research and learning around film history, theory and practice.
BoB logo

Watch TV and film

BoB (Box of Broadcasts) is a television streaming service available to all students and staff. Login using your NUA username and password. It is covered under the NUA’s television license so there is no need for a TV license to use it. BoB allows you to view recently aired programmes from over 65 channels and there is a searchable archive of 2 million broadcasts. You can also create playlists of your favourite programmes and there is a function for making clips.Click here for a VFX playlist of programmes that you might find useful.

Kanopy logo

Kanopy: A curated collection of over 30,000 videos available for streaming on and off campus.

How to access – click on the link above to login to Kanopy with your NUA username and password.

 

MUBIMUBI logo
Sign up here in the film schools programme area to access an ever changing and carefully selected group of films. Available as an app and free to all students.
Useful VFX-Friendly Websites

Here are a few ideas for blogs and websites that you might like to browse for information, inspiration and ideas.
Creative Bloq

Art and design inspiration.

Foundry

Foundry is a global developer of computer graphics, visual effects and 3D design software for the design, visualization and entertainment industries.

fxguide

Visual effects and post-production community website.

NASA

National Aeronautics and Space Administration website.

NUA VFX teaching vault

Site for students and staff at NUA.

Python website

Web development: programming language guide.

 

Get help with your research

Contact the Library
Find Study Skills Advice 

E-books

NUA Library subscribes to EBook Central, Safari and Dawsonera. Go to the E-books page to find out more about how to access these resources. We have over 140,000 e-books to choose from, and you can even rent or suggest extra purchases too.

If you are ever unsure just come and ask a member of the library team and we will be glad to help you.